Ch-ch-ch-changes

Yesterday I got some news that seriously changes things for us. I mean, I’m expecting change in 5 short months, but I wasn’t expecting change to come this soon. My husband just lost his job. As of Friday at 5:00, he will officially be a freelancer.

This brings a wide range of emotions for me. On one hand, the selfish side of me is jealous – jealous that he gets to start living the dream I’ve been waiting to live for months. He gets to sleep in while I get up at the butt crack of dawn to go to work. He gets to work from home and have a flexible schedule.

On the other hand, I am nervous. Nervous about money, nervous about what this means for me and my plans to be a WAHM. We just bought a house, afterall, and we have a baby on the way very soon. What if he doesn’t get enough clients for us to make our mortgage? What if his income isn’t enough to support us both and I have to stay at my job after baby comes?

Aside from these emotions, I am also very excited for him. While the timing is nerve-wracking, at the same time it isn’t so bad. He gets to start out the new year by starting his own business. We do still have 5 months before Baby comes for him to get everything in order. He has been unhappy in his job for so long now, and has been angry and upset every day, which effects me as well. Last week when he was off work for the holidays is the happiest I have seen him in longer than I can remember. He is finally free to pursue clients and jobs that he is interested in. He will finally be able to get the respect that he deserves.

I’m still struggling with this. I know we’ll get through it, but it makes me so nervous. We didn’t expect for him to be unemployed when the baby comes. I hope to God that things fall into place so that I am still able to work from home and be home with my little girl.

Please keep us in your thoughts and prayers!

~ by beyondalice on January 7, 2010.

3 Responses to “Ch-ch-ch-changes”

  1. I hope everything works out for you and your hubby!!!

  2. Will do! Also – he’ll pretty much be on laundry and dish duty since he’s “home.” 🙂

  3. Thank you!!! It WILL be nice to have someone around during the day! I’m sure the cats will love having company, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
