I’m not a slacker, I promise!

I know I’ve been slacking on my blogging lately…but it’s because I’ve been busy. Like, SERIOUSLY busy!

Last Friday morning, we FINALLY signed our escrow papers. (And I got the day off from work….yahoo!!!! I’m still excited about that.) They told us that by 1:00 we should own the home, but it was all dependent on how fast they got the paperwork done. So, we headed home and started loading up the truck. By the time we had our first load ready to go, we got the call that we were officially homeowners!!!! The move took us 2 full days, including cleaning up the old place. We had family visiting from out of state, so it was kind of a bummer for them to have to help us move, but at the same time, they were a lifesaver, since we didn’t have anyone else to help us move on a week day. Some of our strong guy friends did come over in the evening to help with the furniture, thankfully!

We really didn’t have a Halloween this year, since we were too busy moving, but there is always next year. 🙂 The house is still full of boxes, but it’s coming together little by little. I’m liking it more and more!

Work has been crazy busy this week. I finally got another review, and finally got my raise. It’s not much, but hey, at least they gave me one. Hubby is furious about how puny my raise is compared to what I deserve, but oh well. I’ll only be here 6 more months, right? (Now he’s all stressed about money and tells me I may have to go back to work, but you better believe me, I will FIGHT him on it until I win. I refuse to come back here. I may have to work, but it will NOT be here!!!!) I just turned in my maternity leave proposal today. I asked for max allowed time – I figured why not? At least now I have bargaining room if they say I need to take less time. And again, I’m really hoping to not come back, so I suppose it doesn’t really matter. But can you believe it? 6 months???! Holy shit I have so much to do in that time! I have to buy maternity clothes, baby clothes, baby furniture, decorate baby’s room…not to mention finish unpacking all the boxes in my house and getting my house put together. And then I need to get my home business started so I’ll be settled once baby comes. 6 months sure doesn’t seem like much time when I have so much to do!

~ by beyondalice on November 5, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
