So yeah…things are starting to make sense now.

This has been a crazy last few days. As you may remember, my hormones have been out of whack, making me irritable, emotional, and just plain driving my husband crazy. We were both getting sick of the fighting. He was losing his mind…sleeping on the couch and all. I was tired of crying and not knowing why.

Saturday morning, I started thinking about it, and I decided that before I applied my progesterone cream and took my Evening Primrose Oil, (which you are not supposed to take while pregnant), I decided that I would pee on a stick, just to ease my mind. I was 99.999999% sure it would be negative…I just wanted to make sure. I mean, being moody is normal when you go off the pill, right? And sore boobies are pretty common too. And, I did just have that early period. But, I tested anyway, just on a whim.

And I about fell over when that second line showed up almost immediately.

I still didn’t believe it, since I had held the test in the pee for 10 seconds, when you were only supposed to do it for 3, so I didn’t want to say anything to hubby yet. (He did wonder why I was acting strange, but he just chalked it up to the hormones again.) I couldn’t wait to test again, but suddenly hubby was being clingy, and wanted to go computer supply shopping together, and kept wanting to hang out with me. I told him I didn’t want to go, and finally got a few minutes to myself. I ran out to the store and bought a pack of tests, along with a little baby Chargers outfit. As soon as I got home, I peed on my last el cheapo test (only 3 seconds in the pee this time!) and sure enough, that second line still showed up in less than a minute. No more than 10 minutes later, I peed on one of the good quality tests, and holy freaking shit, that line showed up in just a few seconds.

I was pretty much useless the rest of the day. I tried to read, but my mind kept wandering. I was just in complete shock. To go from being utterly depressed that my luteal phase was too short and I wasn’t able to get pregnant to finding out that in fact my luteal phase was NOT too short, and I was already pregnant? TOTALLY unexpected. Turns out that there was a VERY good reason for the crazy mood swings!

When hubby got home from his computer-nerd shopping trip, I gave him a gift bag and told him that I got him something. He was a little surprised…not knowing why I would have gotten something for him. He pulled out the little Charger outfit, and I told him that we’d be needing it next football season. He said “Who’s baby is this for? – for us?!?!?!?” I told him to look in the bottom of the bag, where the three pregnancy tests were. We were both in shock. He asked if I was sure, and didn’t I just have a period? He paced the room for a while and we talked about where the baby would sleep and so on. He got excited pretty quickly, once the initial surprise wore off. That night, he ended up calling his mom in the middle of the night, so I think he was excited. 🙂

*************************************************************************************

My dad-in-law came to town on Sunday, so naturally, we had to tell him too. (He would have figured it out soon just by the fact that I wasn’t drinking margaritas anyway!) I ended up calling my parents too, since the in-laws already knew. I am so hesitant to tell anyone else though!!! Hubby thinks that we shouldn’t bother waiting to tell our friends, and that if anything goes wrong (God forbid!) that we will just have to let everyone know.

But I am just SO paranoid that something will happen. I think I spend WAY too much time on baby boards, and reading about other women having miscarriages is scaring me. I keep trying to reassure myself that most of my friends that got pregnant had perfectly healthy pregnancies and babies. I come from a very fertile family…I got pregnant easily, and hubby and I are both healthy. There is no reason to expect a problem.

But I still want to wait until after my first prenatal appointment to tell everyone. I don’t know how to get past this fear – I know stress isn’t good for the baby, but it’s hard! Is it normal to feel this way? I am super excited, and I can’t wait to start making plans for baby, but I will feel SO much more comfortable after my first visit and my ultrasound. Unfortunately, it’s not until October 5th, so I have a few weeks to wait. I don’t know if I’ll be able to hold out on telling my close friends until then or not…we shall see. In the meantime, I am going to keep peeing on sticks to make sure that second line still shows up!

Hubby and I and the grandparents-to-be are all super excited. 🙂 Hubby just can’t wait for my boobs to start growing…and growing… 🙂 (And neither can I!) I can’t wait to start feeling symptoms. For now, I’m just learning to deal with no alcohol or caffeine. And bedtime sure seems to come a lot earlier now!

~ by beyondalice on September 8, 2009.

3 Responses to “So yeah…things are starting to make sense now.”

  1. OMG Whaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaat?!?!? I can’t even believe this. I am so happy for you! But I’ll keep mum the word until you announce it. 🙂 🙂

  2. CONGRATS! So, SO exciting!

Leave a Reply

 
