Over it.

This is a weird feeling. I think I am really over stressing about buying a house.

Let me quickly catch you up. Over the weekend, I went with hubs to go look at the two houses I had put in offers on while he was out of town. The one that I totally loved? He loves the neighborhood, but he feels like it’s a LOT more work than I had realized. Not to mention the fact that IT HAS NO HEATER (Why I was not informed of this when I went to look at it the first time? I do not know.) We are very unlikely to get approval from the VA for a loan on a house with no heater. So, that one is most likely off the list. The other house, the one I thought he wouldn’t be so stoked on? He really liked it. And thinks that we didn’t offer enough for it. Oops.

So anyway, here we are a week and a half later, and we still have not heard anything on either house!!! In my mind, that’s not a good sign. I don’t think we’ll get either one. All I know is that there were multiple offers on both of them. And by multiple, I mean dozens and dozens.

But at this point? I really, honestly, truly, 100% DO NOT CARE. Sure, I look at the listings every day to see if the status has changed on them, but I don’t have any of those feelings of anxiety, waiting by the phone for a call from our realtor like I have in the past. I just feel nonchalant about it. I really don’t care anymore.

Yes, the $8000 first-time homebuyer credit ends in a couple of months. And we’ll most likely miss out on it. But we’ll do fine without it. Before we started looking to buy a house, we were doing great with our finances – paying off debt, and living comfortably. After losing TWO houses right before we were supposed to close on them, our finances have really been stretched. The best thing we can do right now is stop worrying about a house…sell the appliances that we bought…and start paying off debt again. Now that we finally got a new (good!) roommate, we will be back on our feet again before we know it. Once our debt is paid off, or at least at a very manageable level, we will start saving for a house. Maybe in the near future, we’ll actually be able to get an FHA or Conventional loan, and forget about this impossible VA loan. And if we end up having a baby before we buy a house? We’ll just move to another rental with an extra bedroom. We’ll be fine!

I cannot even begin to express how happy I am that I don’t have those anxious, stressed out feelings that come from waiting to hear about a house. I am just over it. It’s awesome.

~ by beyondalice on August 25, 2009.

3 Responses to “Over it.”

  1. For some reason, I’ve never been emotional when buying a home. I’ve always been able to look at it as purely a business transaction … one where a zillion things can go wrong at any moment … and until those keys are in my hands, there’s no way I’m getting emotional. So far, it’s really worked for me. I hope you’re able to stay the course … you will wind up with a home you’ll love … even if it takes some time.

  2. I’m from the school of babies before houses anyway =)

  3. Nilsa, you are a smart one. It’s so hard though…by the time I decide I like a house enough to want to make an offer on it, I’m already imagining what it would be like to live there! I do think I’m getting past that point now though. If it’ll work, I’ll bid on it…but then I have to stop thinking about it after that!

    And Amaprincess – I am glad you think that way. 🙂 It took hubby a while to come around, but he finally realized that it doesn’t matter if we own a house or not…we can keep a baby in any house, rented or owned! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
