More doggy-style, please.

For those of you that are following my journey in trying to make a baby, I figured I should update you on my OB appointment today. You  may recall that two weeks ago, I had my first OB appointment, and found out that I might possibly have an ovarian cyst. Today’s ultrasound confirmed that I do, in fact, have multiple cysts. There are several, but they are tiny, and the doctor says that they are nothing to worry about – they are the kind that come and go with each cycle, relieving themselves when I ovulate. (It’s SO gross when I put it into descriptive words, so I’ll spare you the detais.) Anyhow, he said the pain with sex is normal…I just have to find a position that doesn’t hurt. Hubby was SO excited when I told him we would be doing more doggy-style.

I don’t know if it was just a mental thing or what, but this afternoon, after my appointment, my  ovary freaking hurt like hell. Apparently, the pain that I’ve thought was caused by gas all these years was probably caused by an ovarian cyst. Or two or three. No wonder it’s always in the same spot. (Bring on the beans, baby. I’m sorry I’ve abandoned you unnecessarily.)

Fortunately, the cysts are the kind that aren’t a problem, and the doc says that LOTS of women have them – it should not interfere with conception. I told hubby about it tonight. (OMG I cannot WAIT for him to get home tomorrow….) He was sympathetic, but glad to hear that it wasn’t an issue (his mom had ovarian cysts, and they were so bad that she had to have them surgically removed so he was a little nervous). I told him about the pain I have before ovulation, and he was actually happy – he was thrilled that we will have a way to let us know when it is time to make a baby! (I didn’t bother telling him that I have been obsessing over my charts for months, for that very reason.) I’m just glad that he is excited to make a baby. When I first went off the pill 4 months ago, he was nervous – he wasn’t sure it was a wise idea, since we didn’t have a house yet. I assured him that “it usually takes several months.” Now, 4 months later, he is more and more excited, and actually very surprised that we haven’t conceived yet. I told him that the average is 6-8 months, and he was in shock. He’s so cute. I purposely shield him from all the stress I go through, waiting and hoping. I just want him to be thrilled when I tell him he’s going to be a daddy.

Where was I going with all of this? Oh yes. So I have cysts on my ovaries. And they hurt like a bitch. But as long as I do it doggy style for a few days a month, we will be just fine.

Making babies totally rocks.

~ by beyondalice on August 18, 2009.

3 Responses to “More doggy-style, please.”

  1. Enjoy the process! Sorry about the cysts but I’m happy they won’t affect the end result.

  2. I have MANY cysts!! I also often get the twinges in my side, sometimes its little, other times it can knock me over!! Welcome to the club cyst-er!

  3. Glad to know that yours are not supposed to cause problems! Here’s to doing it doggy style :-p

Leave a Reply

 
