Happy thoughts.

I was reading this post by Baby Makes Three over at conceiveonline.com, and it really got me thinking.

It seems like ever since we started trying to buy a house, and then started to work on having a baby, I feel like all I’ve been able to dwell on is the negative. There is SO much good in my life right now, and I’m not even taking the time to notice or appreciate it. Sarah’s post really made me aware of this, and I decided that I would follow her lead and take a moment to list the good things I have going for me. I want to enjoy this time in my life – I don’t want to live each day always waiting for the next best thing to come along!

So, here we go:

1. I have a wonderful husband. We always have so much fun together, whether it’s going out and doing fun things together or with friends, or just hanging out at home watching movies. We are always there for each other, supporting one another through all these trials we have dealt with lately. If he’s down, I try to brighten his spirits. If I’m feeling depressed, he always makes me feel better and ensures me that we’ll be okay.

2. I live in an AWESOME house. Yes, it’s a rental, but if I could afford to buy it, I would. My neighbors are wonderful people, and we all get along great. We live withing walking distance from the beach, and I can see the ocean from my yard. The house itself is just awesome…full of light and interesting architecture. I have no reason to ever feel like I need to move out of my house.

3. I have two of the coolest cats in the world. They are like children to me. I love coming home from work and my cat runs outside to greet me, and follows me into the house. Even if it’s just because he’s hungry, it makes me feel needed and loved.

4. I have several groups of friends, and I have at least one friend that I can go to for each and every thing that I need a friend for. There are my girlfriends that I talk about marriage and relationships with, my pregnant and new mommy friends, friends that are mutual friends of my hubby and I, crazy friends to party with, and then there are those friends who are there for anything and everything.

5. Physically, I feel great. I have been working out at lunch or after work about 4 days a week, and have been great at keeping up with the goal I set a couple weeks ago. I have had energy like crazy, and I feel so much better about myself. I think I’m even coing close to losing an inch or so! My ultimate goal is to have a perfectly flat stomach by the time I get pregnant. (Of course, if I get pregnant before that happens, I won’t be mad… ;)) That way, I can track the baby bump starting from zero.

6. While I may not be completely happy with my job, it does have its good points:
* We drink wine every Friday, if not more often.
* We really don’t have a dress code (though I’m always paranoid about how I dress – but that’s another topic).
* We talk about all sorts of off-color topics (like bags of dicks, sex, penises, bathroom humor, phallic references, etc) and no one cares if I cuss.
* Our office is right near the beach in a totally sweet new building.
* For the most part, we all get along pretty well.

7. And, keeping with the work topic, I am finally actually putting forth effort into starting my own business now. I just made my first BIG business purchase, a large, hefty piece of equipment for my craft. I am so excited to actually be taking effective steps towards self-employment now instead of just dreaming about it.

8. I’m a good cook. Other than times (like right now) when we spent all our money on Vegas and a big party, we eat well. And at the times when we’re broke, we have fun coming up with random concoctions out of what’s left in the kitchen.

9. I’m not pregnant yet, so I can drink. Enough said.

10. And, to make it an even ten – I have this blog. A place where I can express all the thoughts and emotions that usually drive me insane – a place where I can connect with other bloggers who can relate to or just share in the things I’m going through.

****

Life’s not so bad after all. Thanks again to Sarah at Baby Makes Three for helping me to realize that there are other things in life besides buying a house and having a baby. 🙂

~ by beyondalice on July 29, 2009.

One Response to “Happy thoughts.”

  1. Progress is good!! So good for you girl!! You’ll be ready in no time!! Can’t wait to read about your BFP! And yes, it’s soooo good to count the blessings… the good things in life! And look at all the good things going on! Besides… I bought a house, and now I wish I didn’t haha!! No… it’s not that bad, I keep telling myself “everything happens for a reason” it’s so true right?!

Leave a Reply

 
