A new goal for my fat ass.

Why is it so hard to stay motivated to work out? Once I get into the swing of it and have a set routine I find that I have no problem going to the gym – I even crave it. I fully enjoy the times when I make it to cardio, ab and muscle classes. But if I take a week – or sometimes even just a day – off from my routine, I find it SOOO hard to drag myself back into the gym. There are always SO many other things that I feel are so much more important for me to be doing. For example, last night would have been the perfect night to work out. I was fully intending to go to the gym, but when 5:00 came around, I wasn’t feeling it. I was hoping for any excuse not to go. When the Mad Hatter called and said he was already at home, I took advantage of that and decided to just go home as well. True, going home provided me with the perfect opportunity to work on my bookbinding, and I did get a lot accomplished, but I felt guilty and even fatter when I was done. Now, tonight I can’t work out because we have our home inspection, and tomorrow I can’t go because I’m going to a concert. Friday night I have to shop for our party, and Saturday is our party. There went a whole week of not working out. Ugh.

I try very hard to eat healthy. I cook from diet books, and I buy healthy and fat-free ingredients. I do know that I often have a hard time with portion control, and I think that’s where the majority of my problem lies. I don’t eat sweets, I don’t eat junk, and I rarely snack. I think my lunches and dinners, although they are healthy, are just too big. And then there’s the alcohol. I used to be able to drink like a fish and it never made a difference, but now that I’m getting older, those calories are really sticking to my middle. I am back to my heaviest weight ever right now, and my belly is bigger than some of my pregnant friends’ bellies. If I were pregnant, I would embrace the belly. But seeing as how I am NOT pregnant, it’s just not cool. My goal is to have a nice, flat belly before I get pregnant so that I can watch my belly grow when I DO get knocked up. Not to mention it would be nice to look cute in my summer clothes and bathing suits!

I can try to trim down my meal portions, but I think what I really need to do is workout. Otherwise I’ll never get past this plateau. There is no way in hell I can drag my ass out of bed early in the morning to exercise – I already know THAT is a lost cause. So tomorrow I am going to try a new routine of working out at lunch. There is a gym downstairs that I have a membership paid for by work, so I need to take advantage of it. Even if my workout is only 30 minutes, anything is better than nothing. If I can do this 3 days a week, in conjunction with my regular evening workout at least once a week, I should feel better. Maybe a short, mid-day workout will be more motivating? And, if nothing else, it’s an excuse to get out of the office for a bit!

I will report back with my progress – this blog will hold me accountable to my new goal. Stay tuned, and wish me luck!

~ by beyondalice on July 15, 2009.

One Response to “A new goal for my fat ass.”

  1. […] working out at lunch or after work about 4 days a week, and have been great at keeping up with the goal I set a couple weeks ago. I have had energy like crazy, and I feel so much better about myself. I think I’m even coing […]

Leave a Reply

 
